Appointment of Trustees announced

Appointment of Trustees announced

November 2010

Sir David Cannadine

David Cannadine was educated at Clare College, Cambridge, St Johns College, Oxford, and at Princeton University. He began his academic career in 1977, becoming a fellow of Christ's College, Cambridge. From 1988 he spent ten years in New York as professor of history at Columbia University before returning to the UK to take up the post of Director of the Institute of Historical Research at the University of London. He was appointed Whitney J Oates Senior Research Scholar at Princeton University in 2008. His publications include The Decline and Fall of the British Aristocracy (1990), Class in Britain (1998), Ornamentalism: how the British saw their Empire (2001) and biographies of G.M.Trevelyan (1992) and Andrew W. Mellon (2006). Among many wider responsibilities, he is Chairman of the National Portrait Gallery, Chairman of the Blue Plaques Panel, Chairman of the Westminster Abbey Committee and member of the Royal Mint Advisory Committee. He has been one of the judges of the Wolfson History Prizes since 2001. He is a Fellow of the British Academy, and was knighted in the 2009 New Year Honours for services to scholarship.

The Hon. Mrs Deborah Wolfson Davis

Deborah Wolfson Davis was educated at the University of Manchester and the College of Law, London. Her early career was as a solicitor at Freshfields, specialising in company law and taxation. Following this, she pursued her interest in media, working as a freelance journalist writing features for publications including Vogue, The Times, Screen International and Womens Art Magazine. She is now a professional scriptwriter. She is the daughter of Lord Wolfson of Marylebone and granddaughter of Sir Isaac and Lady Edith Wolfson, Founder Trustees of the Wolfson Foundation.

Professor Hermione Lee

Hermione Lee was educated at St Hildas College, Oxford. Her academic career began with posts in Williamsburg, Virginia and the University of Liverpool. She then spent twenty years at the University of York, before in 1998 being appointed to the Goldsmiths Chair of English Literature at the University of Oxford. In 2008 she was appointed President of Wolfson College, Oxford. Her publications include: Virginia Woolf (1996), which won the British Academy Rose Mary Crawshay prize and was chosen as a New York Times Book Review Best Book of the Year, and Edith Wharton (2007). She is a Fellow of the British Academy and of the Royal Society of Literature, and was Chair of Judges, Man Booker Prize in 2006. In 2003 she was made a Companion of the British Empire for services to Literature.

Sir Michael Pepper (from January 2011)

Michael Pepper was educated at the University of Reading. His career has encompassed both academia and industry. After a period at the Caswell Research Laboratory of the Plessey Company, he moved to Cambridge in 1973, spending a lengthy period at the Cavendish Laboratory, where he was Professor of Physics from 1987-2009 . In 1991, he was appointed Managing Director of the newly established Toshiba Cambridge Research Centre (now known as the Cambridge Research Laboratory (CRL) of Toshiba Research Europe) and since 2007 he has been a senior adviser to the company. In 2009 he was appointed to the Pender Chair of Nanoelectronics at University College London. Among his many distinctions, he has been awarded the Hughes Medal and the Royal Medal of The Royal Society and the first Mott Medal of the Institute of Physics, as well as the Guthrie (Gold) Medal and the Europhysics Prize of the European Physical Society. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society and the Royal Academy of Engineering, and is Co-founder and Director of TeraViewLtd. He was knighted in the 2006 New Year's Honours list for services to physics.