Information for publishers

Information for publishers

About the Prize

The Wolfson History Prize is awarded annually to promote and recognise outstanding history written for a general audience. First awarded in 1972, it remains a beacon of the best historical writing being produced in the UK, reflecting qualities of both readability and excellence in writing and research.

Books are judged on the extent to which they are readable, scholarly and accessible to the non-specialist reader.

A shortlist of six books is announced in spring, followed by a reception in early summer when one overall winner will be announced.

The winning author will receive a total prize of £40,000. The other five shortlisted authors will be awarded a prize of £4,000 each.

Guidelines and submissions

In order to qualify for consideration for the 2019 Prize, a book must be published in the United Kingdom within the calendar year of 2018. The author must be normally resident in the UK during the year of publication and should not be a previous winner of the Wolfson History Prize. Books should be readable, scholarly and accessible to the non-specialist reader.

Publishers will be contacted in summer 2018 and invited to submit their 2018 catalogue(s) for consideration by the judges.

Please note that catalogues may only be submitted by the publisher.

Any publishers who have not already been invited to submit their catalogues, but would like them to be considered for the Prize, should in the first instance contact the Wolfson Foundation office.

On receipt of catalogues, the judges will select books to be considered. Publishers will then be contacted and asked to send copies of selected titles.

Full details on eligibility and entry are available here.



Submissions open:
1 July 2018

Deadline for catalogues:
30 September 2018

Deadline for selected books:
30 November 2018

Shortlist announced: 
Spring 2019

Overall winner announced:
Summer 2019