2018 Prize

2018 Prize


The shortlist for the Wolfson History Prize 2018 has been revealed, recognising and celebrating books which combine excellence in historical research with readability for a wider general audience.

The overall winner will be announced on Monday 4 June at a reception at Claridge’s, London. The winner will receive £40,000 and each of the shortlisted authors will receive £4,000.

Read the full news story or click on the books below to meet this year's shortlisted authors. 

Out of China:
How the Chinese Ended
the Era of Western

Robert Bickers

(Allen Lane)

The Butchering Art:
Joseph Lister’s Quest to
Transform the Grisly World
of Victorian Medicine

Lindsey Fitzharris

(Allen Lane)

A Deadly Legacy:
German Jews
and the
Great War

Tim Grady

(Yale University Press)

Black Tudors: 
The Untold

Miranda Kaufmann


Heretics and Believers:
A History of the
English Reformation

Peter Marshall

(Yale University Press)

Britain, Germany and the Struggle for the North Sea

Jan Rüger

(Oxford University Press)